STAFF REPORT

SUBJECT: Election of Officers for 2018- 2019

RECOMMENDED ACTION: Motion to Elect Officers for 2018-19

DISCUSSION:

By policy, the San Joaquin Council of Governments has adopted a rotation of its officers. That rotation looks like this for the present fiscal year. Those in bold sit on the Executive Committee:

- 1. City of Stockton
- 2. City of Manteca
- 3. County of San Joaquin -Chair
- 4. City of Tracy Vice Chair
- 5. City of Lodi
- 6. City of Stockton
- 7. City of Ripon
- 8. County of San Joaquin
- 9. City of Escalon
- 10. City of Lathrop



This rotation has occasionally had to be adjusted to account for term limits and election results, but the procedure has remained in place for 14 years.

Following the policy therefore, the City of Tracy would serve as the Chair for 2018-2019. Mayor Robert Rickman sits on the Executive Committee as Vice Chair and would succeed as Chair. Lodi would become the Vice Chair for the coming year, thus Councilmember Doug Kuehne.

The Executive Committee for 2018-19 would look like the following:

Manteca: Mayor Steve DeBrum San Joaquin County: Supervisor Kathy Miller Tracy: Mayor Robert Rickman

Lodi: Councilmember Doug Kuehne Stockton: Vice Mayor Elbert Holman By past practice, the Mayor or the most senior member of the delegation from Stockton serves on the Executive Committee. This would be Vice Mayor Holman. (Vice Mayor Holman is termed out in December of 2018, and will need to be replaced at that time on the COG Board and on the Executive Committee.)

The alternate becomes Councilmember Zuber from the City of Ripon.



RECOMMENDATION:

By policy Mayor Rickman would be nominated as Chair with Councilmember Kuehne as Vice-Chair. Vice Mayor Holman would remain on the Executive Committee, and Councilmember Zuber would serve as the alternate.

Prepared by: Andrew Chesley, Executive Director