STAFF REPORT

SUBJECT: Election of Officers for 2019-20

RECOMMENDED ACTION: Motion to Nominate Mayor Pro Tem Doug

Kuehne as Chair and Councilmember Jesus

Andrade as Vice Chair for Fiscal Year

2019-20

DISCUSSION:

By policy, the San Joaquin Council of Governments has adopted a rotation of its officers. For 2019-20 that rotation looks like this:

- 1. County of San Joaquin
- 2. City of Tracy
- 3. City of Lodi Chair
- 4. City of Stockton Vice Chair
- 5. City of Ripon
- 6. County of San Joaquin
- 7. City of Escalon
- 8. City of Lathrop
- 9. City of Stockton
- 10. City of Manteca

This rotation has occasionally had to be adjusted to account for term limits and election results, but the procedure has remained in place for 15 years.

Out of this, the Executive Committee has been composed of the jurisdictions surrounding the Chair position. As a result, Supervisor Miller, and Mayor Rickman as past chairs would serve on the Executive Committee. Mayor Pro Tem Kuehne would serve as chair. Councilmember Andrade would serve as vice chair. Mayor Zuber would move from an alternate to a full voting member of the Executive Committee. One of the two San Joaquin County Supervisors would serve as the alternate. Either Supervisor Winn or Elliott would fill that position.

By policy, the County of San Joaquin and the City of Stockton always have a seat on the Executive Committee. The other cities have a term on the Executive Committee for five years.

The term of office for the chair and vice chair is one year with the assumption that the vice chair would succeed as chair in 2020-21.

RECOMMENDATION:

Motion to Nominate Mayor Pro Tem Doug Kuehne as Chair and Councilmember Jesus Andrade as Vice Chair for Fiscal Year 2019-20

Prepared by: Andrew Chesley, Executive Director